Mid Life Career Change… Am I Ready For It?

Image

 

“Woke up got out of bed and dragged a comb across my head.” He He He I’ve always wanted to say that Beatles inspired line somehow. Well I am sitting here on Easter Sunday sipping my coffee and wondering this; “am I ready for a mid life career change?”

One thing that I can tell you is that I have always been passionate about the things that I do.  Even from the beginning of my many careers, I’ve made a pact with myself, that when the day comes that I don’t enjoy what I do, well that will be the day that I’ll do something else. Even if that would be a mid-life career change.

I’ve always been a believer that I, ( I can only speak for myself) must do what I am passionate about, what I love.I’ve always tried to Tap in to what my real life purpose is and pursue it.

How many people do we know that absolutely love what they do? That can’t wait for Monday mornings?

 How many people do you know that ‘hate’ or ‘don’t enjoy’ what they do and can’t stand Mondays?

It would be interesting to survey people from all walks of life and ask them this one question: “what do you love about what you do?” I bet you would discover that most of them would say that didn’t really enjoy the work they did, but that it paid the bills. It enables them to pay the rent/mortgage, kids school fees, car etc.

So I would dare to say that probably most of us feel trapped by the life we’ve created. So we often sacrifice what we really want to do because we feel that we’re doing the right thing for our partners/children/parents, but not for ourselves.

What if we looked at doing the right thing and turned it on its head. What if doing the right thing is to follow your heart, do what’s right for you, live life full-out, and teach your partner/kids and all that you can create anything that you set your mind to, and that you can live life full-out, a life without limits. If you stay trapped doing something that you hate what message are you giving to your children and the rest of the world?

So many of us get handcuffed into a career, or a stay-at-home choice, that we don’t really enjoy, spend 2/3 of our life, from the age of 21 through to 60, approximately 40 years, 40 years doing something we hate; why? When did we decide to settle? When did we give up on the dream life? At 5 years old the sky is the limit; ask a 5 year old what they want to be when they grow up and just listen to what they say. There’s no limits. They’ll say things like they want to be an athlete, an astronaut, a rock star, an actor or a doctor. At what point did we shrink our dream to fit our circumstances?

I guess it comes back to where in life are we settling?

  • Are you settling in your career? In your personal relationships? With your health & well-being? Or with your finances?

Chances are, if you settling in one aspect of your life, you’re more than likely settling in others

  • Ask yourself right now where am I settling in my life?

Get clear on where you’re settling and draw a line under it no matter how big or small it is. And then get clear on what you want to create for yourself in your life. Maybe it’s a new career, or relationship, or making more money or getting fit or losing weight or just having better health.

Whatever it is for you.

The good news is – it’s a decision you make. You can make decisions at any point to change your circumstances.

When you know what you want to create for yourself set a course, step by step and go after it. Engage back in life and live it on your terms.

My advice to myself and maybe to you as well is to not waste another second doing what we hate. Let’s start creating the life we deserve. Go get your mid-life career change and take some action today…

Happy Easter and thanks for stopping by…   Peace

Leave a Reply

